Whole egg mayonnaise in the Bellini

20130614-213931.jpg

I’ve had a bottle of grapeseed oil in the cupboard for two months now, waiting to try a Thermomix mayonnaise recipe. And it was so worth the wait. I made the plain version but it would be delicious with raw chopped garlic. Or even better, some mellow oven roasted garlic.

I was initially put off when I saw the note about the eggs as I don’t usually do well with ‘room temperature’ ingredients. I have a small window of opportunity for cooking these days and don’t usually have time to muck around waiting for an egg to reach room temp. But this time luck was on my side, as I hadn’t put the shopping away yet so the eggs were on the bench. If I only had cold eggs, I’d be tempted to pop the egg yolk in the Bellini at 37 degrees for a minute before starting the rest of the recipe, and taking my chance with the egg white. Actually, after writing this, I remembered that Serena at mysensiblefriend successfully made another thermomix mayonnaise with cold eggs. So you probably don’t need to bother with my 37 degree nonsense.

n.b. I used the butterfly on speed four which is not recommend for the Bellini (top speed should be speed 3). I expect it would still work but will probably take longer. If you do make it on speed 3, let me know how you go.

Whole Egg Mayonnaise

  • 1 egg (room temp)
  • Salt and pepper to taste (I like Murray River pink salt flakes)
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 250 g grapeseed oil

Blade/s: Chopping or stirring

1.Separate the egg (you can do this in the lid of the Bellini, click here for instructions).

2. Add the mixing tool to the jug (aka butterfly blade). Add egg yolk, salt, pepper, mustard and lemon juice and mix at Sp4 for 20 sec.

3. Turn the machine on (butterfly blade still on) at Sp4 for 3 minutes. Slowly pour oil onto the lid of the jug and allow it to trickle past the measuring cup and into the jug. Add the oil slowly over the 3 minutes.

20130614-213915.jpg

4. Add egg white to the jug. Mix on Sp4 for 10 sec.

20130614-213924.jpg

2 comments

Leave a Reply

