Biscuit dough in the Bellini Intelli Kitchen Master

20130410-192653.jpg

I have a lovely almond cream KitchenAid mixer that has languished in the cupboard since the Bellini moved in. B.B. (Before Bellini) I’d used my KitchenAid to whip up this dough, so I was keen to see how the Bellini would cope instead. My main difficulty in adapting the recipe was how to cream the butter and sugar together. I’m going to make this into a separate post as it took a bit of experimentation (that may be useful when baking other stuff).

I used my new IKEA mat to roll out the biscuit dough, and then wrap it up to rest in the fridge. It’s such a handy little gadget and I’ll use it for years to come. Or possibly a few more weeks before I forget I’m not meant to use it as a chopping board, and accidentally cut it to ribbons.

The gingerbread men are quite plain due to a lack of icing sugar/ smarties in the house, so I had to get by with a tube of dark instant icing. Once I started adding eyebrows, they were quite fun to decorate. The monobrowed gingerbread man pays tribute to my pregnancy tiredness and therefore laziness in the eyebrow waxing department.

Gingerbread cookie dough (original recipe from taste.com.au here)

  • 125g butter, cold
  • 100g brown sugar
  • 125g golden syrup
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 375g plain flour
  • 1 tbs ground ginger
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Blade/s: Chopping

1. Chop butter into cubes and place it in jug. Blend on Sp3 at 37 deg for 2 min (if your butter is already at room temperature, then skip this step).

20130410-192615.jpg

2. Add sugar and egg yolk to jug. Beat at Sp4 for 2 min.

20130410-192621.jpg

3. Add golden syrup to jug. Beat at Sp4 for 1 min.

4. Add all other ingredients. Mix on Sp6 for 20 sec, then Sp4 for 20 sec.

20130410-192628.jpg

5. Turn out onto a clean floured worktop or silicone baking sheet. Knead for a few seconds to bring the dough together, then shape into a round.

20130410-192635.jpg

6. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap or the baking sheet and rest in the fridge for 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 180 deg.

20130410-192641.jpg

7. Roll out the dough between silicone baking sheets/ baking paper to about 5mm in thickness. Cut out biscuits with cookie cutters and use an egg slice to transfer them to a baking tray. Place them a few cm apart. Bake for 10Β  min then leave to cool then decorate.

7 comments

    • Rosie

      Do you have a thermomat Serena? I saw Tenina use one at her class and that’s why I ended up getting the ikea one (as a workaround for the thermomat).

  1. seasidejo

    Hi there
    Great stuff on cookie dough πŸ˜‰
    Do you think the B would manage with a greater quantity of dough as come Christmas, I bake about 600 shortbread and usually 6 – 8 Christmas cakes..previously all by hand as Ive never afforded myself the Lux. of a K.A. mixer or similar (I do dream though)
    Congratulations, good luck and you’ll be missed re your impending nuptials
    Kind regards

    • Rosie

      Thanks for your good wishes Jo πŸ™‚ re your question: the Bellinis do seem to have a high turnover rate at the moment (anecdotally). Having said that, I know people who regularly make dough etc without any problems. Personally I’d give it a try but hang on to your receipt πŸ˜‰

  2. Rachel

    Hi, not sure if you still use your B,
    I am wondering how I would alter the recipe to make enough for a gingerbread house (so to speak!)

Leave a Reply

