30 second orange (and yogurt) cake

The original thermomix recipe for the 30 second orange cake has become a cult favourite as a super-quick dessert for thermal cookers. When I tried it, I didn’t think it quite lived up to the rave reviews (despite adding some Lindt dark chocolate pieces, which will usually help anything).

I admit that my taste in cakes runs to the super-moist varieties, so I thought I’d see if I could adapt a yogurt citrus cake to use the whole orange. Most of the recipes I found tended to be conservative with the juice and zest (yes Martha Stewart with your one-teaspoon-of-zest, I’m looking at you). This one from five and spice looked like it would do the job, so I adapted some quantities and changed the method for the Bellini.

A quick note about adapting cake recipes for the Bellini and other thermal cookers: I’ve found the most successful recipes are the “chuck it all in and stir” type. If you see a recipe with sifted flour and the word “fold” in the method, it’s probably safest to leave it alone. I have a gorgeous Nigella winter plum cake which has been universally loved whenever I made it in the past – trying to strain the plums and beat the batter in the Bellini reduced it to a sad rubbery slab. Lesson learned.

30 second orange and yogurt cake

  • 225g plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 200g white sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1 whole orange, skin still on,  top and bottom removed and sliced into quarters (use Valencia if possible as the skin is thinner).
  • 130g natural yogurt
  • 100g vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Blades/s: Chopping

  • 1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a loaf pan with butter.
  • 2. Put the quartered orange in the jug. Whizz on sp8 for 7 sec. Scrape down.

  • 3. Add all other ingredients to the jug. Whizz on sp4-5 for 20 sec.
  • 4. Pour the batter into the loaf pan. Bake in the oven until for 50–55 minutes (check centre is cooked by putting a skewer in – it should come out dry).

  • 5. Cool the cake in the pan for about 30 min, then tip onto a cooling rack.

When the cake is cool, either slice and eat as is, or add an orange cream cheese icing.

14 comments

    • Rosie

      Let me know how it turns out for you Serena – I thought the cardamon might be overkill with the orange, but it complements it nicely.

  1. Sarah Steed

    I have a fabulous Nigella chocolate orange cake recipe where you boil an orange whole and chuck it in with all the other ingredients, no sifting or folding required. I use my KitchenAid but it would be super quick in the Bellini.

    • Rosie

      Do you just boil it once, or several times? I had a gluten free one (don’t think it was Nigella though) but it was boil, discard water, boil again and again… Presumably to reduce the bitterness.

  2. Sarah Steed

    You boil it once, but for about two hours, until it just about disintegrates. It barely needs chopping before chucking it in with everything else. That’s the only time consuming part of the whole recipe, and really all you do is put it on the stove and leave it to simmer away while you go about your life with a lovely orange aroma filling the house. I’ll send you the recipe.

  3. Pingback: (One hour and) 30 second orange cake | Cheating with Bellini
  4. Jen

    Great recipe! Just made it tonight- without the cardamom as I didn’t have any (or even know what it was…) Made it in my bellini with the cream cheese icing. It was beautiful!! Big hit with the family 🙂

  5. Joelle Spice

    I made the yogurt cake tonight. I did not have an orange so I used a tiny little lemon. I quartered it and chopped it in the jug and followed the recipe. Worked really well! It tasted lemony which I really liked. When I make a bigger version in my Bosch mixer I add a packet of yeast. It turns out really good too!

  6. kristy farrington

    Hi, does anyone know if you can freeze left over yoghurt. I buy a tub to make a recipe and the rest goes to waste so the recipe ends up being more expensive that it should be.

  7. joon li

    I tried this recipe 3 times and cake cracked on top and yet cake was soggy uncooked. .. i baked at 180 degrees for 55 minutes. Just wondering what am i not doing right. .. hmm. ..i really am bad at baking.

  8. Bethwyn

    Cooked it today – very yummy however it was soggy, next time I will leave it in a bit longer. I cooked it at 175 for 55 mins

Leave a Reply

