Baby food in the Bellini (puréed sweet potato)

Goodness me, all those old ladies in shopping centres were right. These years do fly past. Baby no 2 is now five months, and I’ve just started him on solid foods. I was going to wait till six months and do baby-led weaning like I did with child no 1. But on the weekend he wrestled a piece of cake from me, shoved in his mouth and started chewing. I’m also hopeful that he will sleep longer than 3 hours at night if I start solids (probably won’t work, but anything is worth a try at the moment). Blurry pics are due to the my shaky sleep-deprived hands.

The Bellini does a lovely job on baby purees. Chop the veg and/ or meat into pieces, add it to the cooking basket (boiling water below) and steam. Then drain the water, and blend the cooked veg in the jug.

BTW, this makes a gorgeous sweet potato mash for grownups – just add salt and butter.

Pureed sweet potato in the Bellini

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1L boiling water from kettle

Blade/s: Chopping blade

1. Peel and chop the sweet potatoes into chunks and put in the cooking basket. Add 1L of boiling water from kettle to the Bellini jug. Put cooking basket in the jug.

20130929-170532.jpg

2. Cook on Sp3, ST temp for 17 min with the measuring cup IN.

20130929-170609.jpg

 

3. Take the cooking basket out, and put the left over liquid in a separate jug (you will use it to thin the cooked vegetables).

4. Put the cooked sweet potato chunks into the empty Bellini jug. Add a little of the reserved cooking liquid (I added about 3 tablespoons in total).

5. Blend on Sp6 for 10 seconds. Scrape down and blend again on Sp6 for another 10 seconds. If it’s too thick, add more water. I kept mine fairly thick, so I could choose to mix it with breast milk or formula or water just before the feed.

20130929-170708.jpg

This freezes well so dollop it into ice cube trays and then defrost as needed.

 

20130929-170544.jpg

 

And as all my food pics were a bit rubbish today, I thought I’d end with a gratuitous lovely baby pic of my lovely baby.

011

 

If you have a different thermal cooker, click on the name of your machine for general tips on converting this recipe and others:

Thermomix | HotMixPRO | MaxiKA SuperChef | MultiChef | ThermoChef | ThermoBlend

5 comments

  1. loz

    Hi – you can do this even more easily by peeling and cutting into big chunks veg of choice, blitzing with chopping blade at sp6 for 6 seconds, scrape down, add a couple of tablespoons of water and cook with lid on, sp1 until done. Saves using the basket, and avoids any loss of nutrients too!

  2. Rachel Everett

    First off, your little one is gorgeous,

    Secondly thank you for explaining how to basically purée for me 🙂 it’s much appreciated 🙂

Leave a comment